Carnival Breeze Cruise Ship Review                                                                                                         
 
 

 

discount cruises :: romantic getaways cruise

Carnival Breeze Cruise Ship Review


We had been planning this romantic cruise vacation for a couple of years. What could be more romantic than a Mediterranean cruise? And to top things off – on a brand new cruise ship!

Yes we took the plunge and sailed on the Carnival Breeze on only her second cruise voyage. What an experience.  The cruise ship was spotless and shiny-new as would be expected.  But there were so many new areas that we had not before seen on the Carnival ships that we have sailed on in the past.  I could go on and on...

 

But first, let’s start with some of the ship’s history and facts:



Birth of Carnival Breeze Cruise Ship



• December 2005 – Carnival placed a multi-ship order with Fincantieri Shipyards in Italy

• September 2009 – The first ship in this order enters service named Carnival Dream

• May 2010 – Carnival selected Carnival Breeze as the name of the third ship in the order

• December 2010 – The keel is laid for the Carnival Breeze at the Fincantieri building dock

• September 2011 – Carnival Breeze is floated out of dry dock and berthed at Fincantieri’s wet dock for the eight month interior fit-out

• April 2012 – The ship completes her sea trials

• May 2012 – More than 1300 crew members arrive as Carnival accepts delivery from Fincantieri

• June 2012 – Carnival Breeze enters service with inaugural season cruises in the Mediterranean

That gives you a quick time-line for the cruise ship’s birth. Now for some facts about her:



Carnival Breeze in VeniceHow Big is She?



 The Carnival Breeze is 1,004 feet long

 She carries 3690 guests

 She has 1386 crew members on board



Over-all



Our Romantic Mediterranean CruiseOur experience on board the Carnival Breeze was fantastic. If there was one thing that we would like to change it would be to be able to spend more time on her to enjoy all of her amenities.

You see our itinerary was very aggressive. We hit 10 ports (including her home port) in 12 days. This was our first and may be our last – hopefully NOT – trip to the Med so we wanted to see as much as we could. That meant ten or twelve hours off the ship each port day.

Anyway back to the ship. The Carnival Breeze is one of the largest ship in the Carnival Fleet. She really could be a resort hotel with so many attractions.



Dining


If dining is your thing then you are in for a real treat. There a number of restaurants available to choose from. The main dining rooms are not as lavishly decorated as some cruise ships that we have been on but it is very pleasant. We were seated in the Blush Diningroom.) The food here was quite good but not exceptional. Is it just me or has the quality of the presentations dwindled over the years? Maybe I have set too high a standard or perhaps it’s the advent of so many optional (extra charge) restaurants.

Cucina del Capitano the Carnival Breeze Italian RestaurantThe Italian restaurant – Cucina del Capitano - is the only specialty restaurant that we ate in. The food here was spectacular! It was well worth the small extra charge. The décor was quite nice although some of the ambiance of the place was lost (in my opinion) from the fact that there was a stairway directly from the lido buffet. You could also enter directly from the upper deck level. We were fortunate to have an intimate table away for the hub-bub of the buffet. It was a wonderful evening.

The steakhouse restaurant – Fahrenheit 555 – has a beautifully decorated contemporary feel. The rich wood, Italian glass tiles and gold-leaf detailing make you feel special when you simply walk in. The aromas coming from the steakhouse would make your mouth water.

There are of course many other places to sate your appetite. The Blue Iguana Cantina offers tacos and burritos. The Bonsai sushi offers raw fresh seafood as would be expected. Guy’s Burger Joint speaks for itself with offerings inspired by Guy Fieri.

There was places for “pub-grub”, pizza and of course the Lido Marketplace buffet had pretty much anything that you might want. Oh and don’t forget room service for those special times.



Entertainment



On most of the main stream cruise ships there is no lack of things to keep one entertained. Carnival Breeze is no exception. Take for example The Punchliner Comedy Club Presented by George Lopez. That’s right. Carnival has teamed up with George Lopez to act as a consultant for all comedy acts here.

Of course there are always the evening shows in the Ovation Theater. These shows vary from song and dance to comedy to Vegas-style productions. The Thrill Theater offers 3D and special effects with motion to make the movie come alive – and you’re part of it. The Seaside Theater makes you feel like you’re back in the age of the Drive-in Theater except that you Walk-in. A giant outdoor screen above the lido pool comes to life with movies, shows and sports events.

Carnival Breeze has the mandatory (for some people) casino – the Winner’s Luck Casino. This area was quite popular as all ship casinos seem to be. And of course there are the Funshops where duty-free and souvenirs can be found. These shops also have special sales throughout the cruise. Some of these sales are so popular that near chaos happens.



Outdoor Fun



The decks on the Breeze are just loaded with things to… or not to do. If you just want a place to “chill” in the sun there is plenty of room on the decks. But if you are looking for things to get you active you certainly won’t be disappointed.

Let’s start with the pools. The main lido pool is the Beach Pool. This area is where most of the happening events take place. The Tides Pool at the back of the ship is flanked by two hot tubs. The promenade deck also has a couple of hot tubs or spas. The Splash Zone is a water areas for the kids to play in.

Twister and Drainpipe Breeze's waterslidesFor more water fun and excitement take a ride down Twister or DrianPipe the Breeze’s two water slides. These are super fun – and fast – water slides that will thrill and chill you both at the same time!

SportsSquare has some exhilarating times ahead for you. There is a ropes course for you to navigate around high above the mini-golf course below. The course is equipped with harness to keep you safe while you work your way along the ropes. A running track encircles these courses as well as the multi-sport court where basketball, volleyball, tennis and the like can be played.



Refreshments Anyone?



The Carnival Breeze is loaded with “watering holes” and hang-outs. The Blue Iguana Tequila Bar and the Red Frog Rum Bar are on opposite sides of the main lido pool while the Tides Bar is adjacent the Tides Pool. There is also a small bar on the serenity deck.

The Promenade Deck has a host of places for you to enjoy a refreshment. Aft is the Limelight Lounge where in addition you may find a comedy act, karaoke or live music. Next to it is the Piano Bar 88 which was quite popular on our cruise. Moving forward we find the Liquid Nightclub. Next we come to the indoor Red Frog Pub a cool Key West inspired décor. And of course the casino has its bar. You can even order drinks in the main show lounge before the performances.

One deck below you’ll find the Library Bar, a quiet place for a drink and conversation. The Lobby Deck is the next deck down where you’ll find another bar right next to an area where you may find some performers and perhaps some fellow passengers dancing.

You can find waiters while lounging on the decks waiting to serve you so that you don’t have to leave the comfort of your deck lounge. And if a drink on your private balcony is desired you can always call room service.



Spa



The Cloud 9 Spa has been redesigned on board Carnival Breeze. There are heated loungers in the spa’s Tepidarium. At the very front of deck 14 is the spa’s relaxation room with large windows facing the front of the cruise ship. The spa also includes a Thalassotherapy Pool, a sauna-like Laconium, the Caldarium which is a cleansing steam chamber and the Aromatic Grotto with its herbal steam. All of the usual services of message, facials, manicures, pedicures, acupuncture, hair salon services and exercise programs.

 

Well I’ve talked way too long about this magnificent cruise ship. It’s time for you to experience it yourself.  Check out the itinerary that suits you best and book your cruise!  I hope that we will be able to experience this beautiful vessel again soon.

If you want to find out a little about the planning of our Mediterranean cruise itinerary check out "Carnival Breeze - A Romantic Getaway Journey"


Browse through some of the other informative cruise pages.  Check out the great deals on our Discount Cruises page.  Then book your cruise on-line and get excited!.

Related articles for special cruises, cruise itineraries, cruise ships, romantic getaways and many other topics!

 

 

 

 
Latest Posts

Pre-Mediterranean Cruise Tours - Barcelona

How can you get the best "bang for your buck" pre-cruise tour in Barcelona?

 

Carnival Breeze - A Romantic Journey

We're planning to strike off one item from our bucket list - a Mediterranean Cruise.  This cruise will be aboard the brand new Carnival Breeze.  We will be sailing on only her second trip so we will have a lot to tell when we get back.  Check out the itinerary in this article and watch for future posts with our cruise reviews.

Carnival Breeze Cruise Ship Review

Check out this fabulous new cruise ship the Carnival Breeze.

Site Resources

Contact Us

Webmasters, submit your site to for possible inclusion in our directory.

Find out about us, the people behind A1-Discount-Cruises.com

Share this site by pasting this code on your site.

Read our terms of use and privacy statements.

Our Disclosure Policy

Visit our partner listings.

For quick browsing of our site visit our site map.